Learning at Home…Week 2

Hi Kindergarten families,

I can’t believe this is the second week of learning at home. I miss you all so much! I am happy to see that many of you have been working hard on our online learning using Clever. This is a new type of learning to all of us, so thank you so much for your patience! 

~Jen

Popcorn Words: as, has

Kindergarten Message:

Hi Kinders,

I miss all of you so much! It has been so long since I’ve seen your cute faces! I am so proud of how hard you’ve been working! I love to get the pictures you’ve been sending me and seeing as many of you as I can! Keep working hard and being good listeners for your parents. Sending all of you a big hug!

Love, 
Mrs. Baker

Math: 

  • Work on adding and subtracting within 10 (or up to 20 for a challenge). 
  • Grab a handful of Legos and count them. Make a pattern with the Lego colors! 
  • Count your stuffed animals. Use them as a way to create story problems–There were 4 animals playing in the field, but the bunny hopped away. How many animals are left? Try writing the equation to go along with your story!

Reading:

  • Keep being an AVID reader! Find different spots to read around your house and always keep a stack of books nearby.
  • Don’t forget to checkout YouTube for our teacher read-alouds! We are having fun recording books for you to listen to, I hope you’re enjoying them!
  • You could record yourself reading a book and send it to me!

Writing:

  • Practice writing upper and lowercase letters.
  • Write a letter to a friend in class or Mrs. Baker (3768 Bantam Dr. Hudsonville), Mrs. DeGroot (3391 Stephanie Hudsonville) or Mrs. Santana (7709 Bass Creek Dr. Hudsonville). We will write you back! This is great practice in letter (and envelope) writing. 
  • Write a morning message each day and include our popcorn words in it. 

Reminders:

  • Please remember to use the Educational Fun links on the blog. Raz-kids is a great resource for reading! 
  • I love to get the pictures and videos you are sending me of the kids learning and playing. I have been posting them to the Photo Album of Home Learning under the Educational Fun links. 
  • Remember to make a picture to hang in your window to spread some cheer! I had fun painting mine yesterday…my kids each painted one too! 
  • Also, check out our school blog for information on grab-n-go meals and other essential items.  The meals are available to ANY CHILD who may be in need. We are here for you!  Sending you all hugs and love during this time.

We miss all of you so much and think about each of you all the time!! We can’t wait until we are back together learning again!! Hugs to all of you from Mrs. Baker, Mrs. Santana and Mrs. DeGroot!! xoxo

Here’s my picture… (it’s through the screen, so it’s not a great picture)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *